Happy Punkin Day

Until I graduated from high school, I always called pumpkins, “punkins.” Maybe this was just my Kansas-born dialect coming out or maybe it was from the nickname my grandpa had for me, but either way, I got made fun of for it. My nickname in track and cross country during high school was Punkin, and when we got Internet for the first time, my AIM screen name was Punkin215.

Now that I’m almost 30, I am finally pronouncing it correctly. As I mentioned in the last post, my family came to visit last weekend and we had a blast carving “pumpkins.” They have one more night of glory on the front porch (full of bugs and candle wax) until they become compost!

The finished product, from left to right - Papa's punkin, Mom's punkin, and Blair's punkin

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nany on October 31, 2010 at 11:03 am

    Those jack-o-lanterns are great!!! But, Andria, I’m afraid you got your letters backwards. I’m sure you must have meant ‘TU’ for Trinity! =D
    It was so great that you two went to Jen’s game Friday … I just wish we had been there with you. With a little luck we’ll be back down there for some tournament games, so there’s still a chance we might get to see you if it fits your schedule, and hopefully take you to dinner. And if tournament play isn’t in the cards this year, perhaps next year. Andria, these are such sweet posts about you and your family. Larry’s family has a strong gardening history, too, and he misses it terribly. He plans to get one started again soon. Take care! (and keep on carvin’ those pumpkins, Punkin’!)

    Reply

    • Posted by Andria on October 31, 2010 at 11:50 am

      Thanks, Nancy! We had a blast at Jennifer’s game. She’s awesome on the field. The men’s team was pretty spectacular, too. Fingers crossed for some Trinity tournament games and that we get to see you all!

      Reply

  2. Posted by Pat on October 31, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    Hey, Punkin! Those are great jack-o-lanterns! Charlie and I used to carve some every year with Kathy and Rob; one of my favorite things about Halloween.
    Have a spooky day!
    Pat

    Reply

    • Posted by Andria on October 31, 2010 at 3:51 pm

      That sounds like a fun tradition! Blair and I may just have to keep this up every year. Did you guys roast the seeds too? We had good intentions to do that but didn’t do it quickly enough. They got mold spots. 😦

      Reply

  3. Posted by hilstreet on October 31, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    What nice posts about family!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Kathy on November 3, 2010 at 8:49 am

    I think I have seen Blair pretend to eat punkin insides every Halloween! It is a very familiar sight! Wish we could have been there to help you carve. I love your posts.

    Reply

    • Posted by Andria on November 3, 2010 at 1:04 pm

      That is one thing I’ve learned about Blair over the years. He will try to eat anything. Can’t wait to see you guys over Thanksgiving!

      Reply

  5. Posted by Kathy on November 3, 2010 at 8:51 am

    I tried one year to roast the seeds. Punkin seeds are very difficult to shell so I gave up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

