Saving Seeds

Although spring has technically only been here for a little more than a month, I can tell that our pleasant days and cool nights are quickly fading. Our cool weather greens can tell too. We’ve had what might end up being the hottest April on record in Austin, although it appears that May is going to start off rather cool (and we might actually get rain too!). Still, it’s too late to save our lettuce, spinach, and arugula, all of which have flowered and/or gone to seed. We decided we’d try to save some of these seeds, so we spent the afternoon clipping arugula pods and pulling off spinach seeds. I have to admit we don’t really know what we’re doing, so it’s possible that these seeds won’t actually sprout this fall, but we’ll see.

Arugula seed pod

Arugula seeds and pod

Spinach seeds

Spinach seeds on the stem. Google tells me these are female seeds.

Spinach and arugula seeds

Spinach on the left, arugula on the right.

 

Butterball in the garden

Obligatory garden cat picture

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by hilstreet on April 30, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    You know what your readers want. And that’s cat/garden pics.

    Oh, and we want what Google tells you. We like that part too.

    Seeds!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kathy on May 2, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    I always want cat/garden pics. Butterball looks wonderful and happy and clean!

    Saving seeds is kind of a hassle for me because I always think I will remember what they are and then forget. Although last year I saved some celosia seeds from Margie’s garden and wrote on the bag and planted them and they all sprouted! I believe I gave you and Maryanne a few of these plants when you were here at Easter. I will take a picture of my favorite seeds and take a picture of my cutting flower garden and post them here. Maybe tomorrow when it warms up a bit.

    If you want to know if the seeds you harvested are viable, place a few of them in a wet paper towel and see if you get sprouts in a few days. Good luck!

    Reply

  3. Posted by rosienose on May 3, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    By the way, nice photos.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

