Flowers are blooming with whiskers

I took photos of the cutting flower garden yesterday (yesterday was really early May) and thought I would show you how the seedlings  are coming along. Of course Rosie came along and got in the photos. There were some surprises in the garden too.

This was the first surprise.

I found this snail and took a photo of it next to a pansy. I have never seen snails this big in OKC before. I hope it  hitched a ride with Blair and Andria and got to OKC accidentally. I also hope it isn’t a sign of things to come. I threw it away in the big trash can. It will probably go to the dump and make lots of other big snails. No, I didn’t kill it. I needed Anne to help me do that, and she wasn’t gardening with me at the time.

The first zinnia

This isn’t actually a flower from a seed I planted. I bought a few zinnias at Doug and Anne’s plant sale about 3 weeks ago and planted it in my cut flower garden. They have all survived so far in this strange weather, and this is my first bloom.

Eucalyptus

This eucalyptus is from seed that I planted last year and it wintered over in the front yard. It doesn’t winter over too well in the back yard. I have determined that the front yard is one or one half zone warmer than the rest of the yard. Eucalyptus make great filler in bouquets. Some are almost long enough to use.

The First Snapdragon and Rosie

This is the first Snapdragon to bloom. I have the entire cut flower bed covered with this very light weight netting that Anne and I used when we had a small cut flower farm. It keeps the flowers from falling over when their heads get too big. It is very useful in cut flower production. Rosie loves to walk under the netting and rub her nose and whiskers on it.

The first Lisianthus bloom

Lisianthus are difficult to grow from seed so Doug always gets Anne, Pat and the rest of us a couple of flats of lisianthus seedlings and grows them in the greenhouse for us. They also need to be staked or netted. I planted these in the front yard so I really didn’t want to use netting. Anne suggested I try using these triangular green tomato cages turned sideways to stake the lisianthus. They don’t show from the street like white netting would.  I hope they work. So far, perfect.

First blooms for Yellow Yarrow

 
Yarrow are perennial and make great garden flowers. These would grow great in Texas too. 
 
 
 

Second Garden Surprise

 This is neighbor’s cat. We are not sure where he lives, but he likes to hang around. We call him Blackie. He likes to nest in the Mexican Feather Grass.

Rosie Pouncing on Garden Surprise

 Rosie is not always happy that he is around, sometimes she tolerates him, sometimes not so much.

Acuba Bush

 Acuba is a great evergreen shade bush. It is great to use in bouquets as a filler.

Bouquet with acuba and first roses of the season

Here is my first lisianthus bouquet with white roses from Walmart and my Pinkish Orange Roses from my garden. They are called Fragrant Cloud and they make the whole room smell delicious.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tyler on June 8, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    I like the originality of the other cat’s name…and the zinna looks good!

    Reply

    • Posted by rosienose on June 8, 2011 at 3:47 pm

      In fact, I mentioned that it sounded like Tyler made this name up, but then I deleted it. Haha

      Reply

  2. Kathy, your flowers look amazing! I’m so glad you gave us some translpants this year! We’ve never had pretty flowers in the backyard, and they are quite the touch. The lisianthus plant is doing the best, but the celosia look nice too. I made my first bouquet a few weekends ago and had to improvise with some random things we had growing – sage, rosemary, etc. I want to try yarrow next summer! (Nice cat shots by the way!)

    Reply

  3. Posted by Nancy on June 8, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    Lovely bouquet, Andria!!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Andria on June 9, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    That bouquet (and this blog post) was all Kathy!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Cyd Roberts on August 24, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    I found my sticky note with your blog name on it, hooray! I’m looking forward to reading more of it. I agree with Tyler on the black cat’s name. We have had 2 black cats and they were both named Blackie. Naming cats is not my strong point.

    Reply

    • Posted by Andria on August 24, 2011 at 7:16 pm

      Welcome to the blog, Cyd! Thanks for reading. If you can’t tell, we are in serious need of a new blog post. 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

